Told by the Northmen: Stories from the Eddas and Sagas

Told by the Northmen: Stories from the Eddas and Sagas

About this book

Year of first publication: 1908
Estimated reading time: 4 hours and 50 minutes

Told by the Northmen: Stories from the Eddas and Sagas is an early twentieth century retelling of well known tales from The Poetic Edda, The Prose Edda, and the Icelandic sagas.

Told by the Northmen contains the following stories:

  1. How All Things Began
  2. How All-Father Odin Became Wise
  3. How the Queen of the Sky Gave Gifts to Men
  4. How a Giant Built a Fortress for the Asas
  5. The Magic Mead
  6. How Loki Made a Wager with the Dwarfs
  7. The Apples of Youth
  8. How the Fenris Wolf was Chained
  9. How the Pride of Thor was Brought Low
  10. How Thor’s Hammer was Lost and Found
  11. The Giant’s Daughters
  12. The Story of Balder the Beautiful
  13. How Hermod Made a Journey to the Underworld
  14. How Loki was Punished at Last
  15. The Story of the Magic Sword
  16. How Sigmund Fought His Last Battle
  17. The Story of the Magic Gold
  18. How Sigurd Slew the Dragon
  19. How Sigurd Won the Hand of Brunhild
  20. How the Curse of the Gold is Fulfilled
  21. The Boyhood of Frithiof the Bold
  22. Frithiof and Ingeborg
  23. Frithiof Braves the Storm
  24. Balder Forgives How the End of All Things Came About

This book is available in:

© All rights reserved

design and development by dankwin

What's the problem?

Please let us know what problem you are having with (one of) the downloads, and we’ll try to fix the issue as soon as possible.

Recommend a book

What book would you recommend for someone that’s new to heathenry?

Let us know below, so we can build a great curated collection for beginners. We prefer books that are in the public domain.

Stay up to date. Follow us on social media!